The University of Maryland and Department of Mechanical Engineering are among active participants and exhibition sponsors of the 2017 Intersociety Conference on Thermal and Thermomechanical Phenomena in Electronic Systems (ITherm). Sponsored by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology (CPMT) society, ITherm is an international conference for scientific and engineering exploration of thermal, thermomechanical and emerging technology issues associated with electronic devices, packages and systems.

In addition, mechanical engineering Professor Michael Ohadi is serving as General Chair of the conference organizing committee. Ohadi has been an active participant in ITherm over the years, and in 2012, winning the ITherm Award in recognition of his contributions to panel discussions and service as track co-chair. Additionally, he and Distinguished University Professor Avram Bar-Cohen are both members of the ITherm 2017 Executive Committee and Associate Research Professor Amir H. Shooshtari is serving as a co-chair in the “Emerging Technologies and Fundamentals Track.”

This year, ITherm also formed a Women and Diversity Chapter to promote women, diversity and other underrepresented groups in engineering, and the department is pleased to announce that Research Associate Farah Singer is one of the founding members of the group. According to their program, “Through mentorship, networking and outreaching, this newly created chapter is dedicated to encouraging women and underrepresented engineers and scientists with diverse backgrounds to follow their interests towards engineering careers in academia and industry.” Their inaugural panel discussion focuses on “Enhancing Participation of Women and Underrepresented Minorities in Engineering.”

UMD is a Gold sponsor of ITherm 2017 and will have two exhibition tables available during the conference: Smart and Small Thermal Systems Laboratory and the Center for Advanced Life Cycle Engineering (CALCE) Power Electronics.

ITherm 2017 will be held May 30 – June 2, 2017 at the Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin Resort in Orlando, Fla.

Related Articles:
Ohadi Receives ASHRAE E.K. Campbell Award of Merit
UMD Team Receives ASME AESD 2013 Best Paper Award
Ohadi Recognized as Leading Expert in Heat Exchangers
Mechanical Engineering Student Awarded NSF Travel Grant
Six Mechanical Engineering Students Selected for 2013 Future Faculty Program

May 30, 2017

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

Khaligh, McCluskey receive Boeing funding for more electric aircraft

Larsson Named Associate Editor of AIAA Journal

Super Wood Could Replace Steel

IEEE Prognostics and Health Management StandardPublished by IEEE Reliability Society

Five Mechanical Engineering Graduate Students Named Future Faculty Fellows

Inaugural Energy Innovation Seed Grants awarded

C.D. Mote, Jr. Named a Fellow in the National Academy of Inventors

UMD Researchers Discover Methods to Mediate Membrane-Nanoparticle Interactions

Bar-Cohen Named President of IEEE Electronic Packaging Society

ME Students Attend SHPE Conference

Back to top  
PIRLS Home Clark School Home UMD Home ENME Home